Thursday, February 28, 2013

When Mom and Dad come home, I practice sitting.

And swimming.

And grinning.

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

If a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, then a lamb on the head is worth...?

Somebody please tell me because Mom and Emma keep putting lambs there.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Lately, all I want to do is grab things.

Once they're in my grasp, however, I can be calm and sit examining them serenely. For a few minutes at least.

Monday, February 25, 2013

Sometimes it's nice to just lie back, relax, and watch the breeze lightly ruffle the leaves on the trees.

Sunday, February 24, 2013

My parents are pretty lucky. There's a smile on my face practically from the moment I wake up...

to the end of the night...

except when we're at Trader Joe's, where Dad even has to physically restrain me from putting all the delicious chocolate and candy in the basket.

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Mom acts like she's never seen a naked baby before.

Well, she hasn't -- except for every single day since, like, ever.

Friday, February 22, 2013

I feel even taller when I'm standing on Dad.

Even if the terrain is a bit more uneven and I occasionally stumble.

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

I'm enjoying the rare time in one's life when having thunder thighs is actually desirable.

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

I like to read with Dad on the floor.

I make sure to let him know when I'm done very clearly.

Monday, February 18, 2013

Another day of fun with friends and family. Even when you're not a working stiff, three-day weekends are pretty awesome.

First, I went for a walk and lunch with Mom's family. Uncle Drew couldn't believe how big and fun I've gotten. He was just the right height for me to try ninja-kicking his head while we walked around.

Later on, Dad's crazy friends came over to visit!

Andy made fun of my serious face.

Bilge held me until I started wriggling.

And I made eyes at Aubrey.

I mean, wouldn't you? She's super cute!

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Like any sophisticated baby, I like to spend Sunday morning at brunch. My favorite spot is the Portola Valley Kitchen.

Sir Prance-A-Lot made an appearance.

Grandpa V held me while I held hands with Gege.

And later I got to drink some milk with the faintest flavor of maple syrup in it. I like it when Mom has pancakes!

Saturday, February 16, 2013

I had quite the action-packed day!

Mom and Dad took me for a picnic in the park. Then we watched the big kids play at the playground and I got to go down the slide with Mom.

Plus, more swings!

As promised, here's the swinging in motion. Note that none of the grumpy baby noises in the video are mine. With the exception of a brief delighted gasp, I was just silently enjoying the ride.

After a superb nap, I got to see bubbles for the first time. I wasn't that thrilled with them. I'm not sure I understand how things can float.

Plenty of family fun time!

I'm a lucky baby.

Friday, February 15, 2013

No wonder I laugh at Dad a lot. That guy makes some funny faces!

Thursday, February 14, 2013

Happy Valentine's Day

Daddy found out how to make me laugh. I'm one happy baby!

Blurry, but happy.

Love to all!

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Today I got in the swing of things.

I'll get Mom to put up a video of me in motion soon!

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Oh, so THIS is how books work.

It's nice of Dad to read them to me.

Monday, February 11, 2013

Sometimes I get very rosy-cheeked right before bed.

I also do a lot of wriggling...

and grabbing...

and grinning!

I wonder if all this activity is why I sometimes find it hard to get to sleep?

Sunday, February 10, 2013

Check out my new trick!

Whew, this thing is pretty heavy. Good thing I got a nap afterward.

Saturday, February 9, 2013

Five months old today!

Wait, I didn't get any five-month-birthday presents?

Friday, February 8, 2013

Sitting not-so-pretty

So, I've been practicing how to sit lately. You'd think with all that standing that I do, I'd have a really solid core to hold myself up. You'd be wrong.

Sometimes I can stay upright okay.

And sometimes I just sprawl around waiting for someone to fan me with palm fronds and feed me grapes.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

I've got books on the brain lately.

This is how the words get into your head, right?

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

I'm eager to write my memoirs.

But I might settle for exploring the fun texture of Dad's arm hair.

Monday, February 4, 2013

I've been having lots of fun hanging out with my new friend Emma during the day. She takes me to parks, out for walks, reads me stories, and generally keeps me entertained.

Oh, and plenty of standing!

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Helped Dad take down the Christmas lights this morning.

It's February, not sure why we didn't just leave them up for another ten months...

Saturday, February 2, 2013

After my first night of sleep training (which went pretty well) we went out for celebratory hamburgers!

Well, Mom and Dad got burgers. I just got to gnaw on my toy giraffe. And I did all the work!

Friday, February 1, 2013

I'm getting great at rolling onto my stomach! Mom unswaddled me this morning and left the room for less than a minute, then came back to find this:

Seriously, see how speedy!

I'm even tolerating tummy time much better these days.