Friday, February 28, 2014

Aloha Maui

Our last morning in Maui, we took the opportunity to spend more quality time at the beach. By the end of our trip, I was much more willing to get up and personal with the waves and even dragged Dad into the water a few times.

Until our next trip!

Thursday, February 27, 2014

So many waves, so little time

The power of the waves is amazing. They can be SO. LOUD!

I might like them best when they're little and just lapping at the shore.

Or maybe they're just less fearsome when Dad holds my hand.

I guess it's only fair that he makes me wipe the sand from his feet each night, right?

Once my "chores" are done, we can both enjoy our final dinner in Maui.

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Turf

We stayed on solid ground today, taking a trip to the Iao Valley, where we took a short hike through the lush countryside up to the giant rock formation called the Iao Needle.

I learned it's also known as a giant phallic symbol. Uhhh...

We had a nice leisurely walk, which enabled me to pick up lots of cool sticks.

And other things I tried to eat even though I know they are verboten.

We also enjoyed our evening beachside stroll/caterpillar hunt! The wriggly little fellows were out in full force each evening, and I loved to point them out.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

All aboard

Today we took a short trip on the Sugar Cane Train to Lahaina.

At first, I was not on board. I was very wary of this loud mechanical beast.

When we stopped midway, I took my pants off to help loosen things up. (And possibly also because I had peed on Dad.)

By the end, I was leaning out the window like a veteran passenger.

Woo woo!

Monday, February 24, 2014

Sand man

There's a sand box at school, but the beach is WAY cooler.

The Veltman family: sand fans.

Sunday, February 23, 2014

Surf

Today I enjoyed getting reacquainted with my old friend Mr. Ocean. (Sadly, I don't mean Billy Ocean.)

I also made room for some pool exploration. Check out that waterfall!

And, of course, beer tasting with Dad. Finger-lickin' good!

Saturday, February 22, 2014

Maui bound

En route to Maui for a family vacation, I exceeded all Mom and Dad's expectations by getting good solid rest. I was positively angelic!

After lots of fun with stickers, Dad and I took a quick nap during the flight.

That filled me with enough energy to be in good spirits for the drive to our hotel.

Then I got some good Dad snuggles for a brief afternoon nap.

And best of all, I slept like a dream the whole night through!

Friday, February 21, 2014

Travelin' man

I see you've been getting out the suitcases, Dad. Don't think you're going anywhere without me -- I'll just snatch up my bag, here...

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Fort Linc

I feel cozy in here, but I'm not sure my pillow fortifications will hold.

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Lunch for two

I frequently enjoy the delight of sharing meals with friends.

Though I wish we could do without the dorky matching bibs.

Monday, February 17, 2014

Blue mat blues

I flop, I sprawl, I crawl. This blue mat is great for when you want to lay low.

Saturday, February 15, 2014

A little evening Swiffering

You know, cleaning in the nude is the only way to ensure everything is *really* clean.

Friday, February 14, 2014

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Monday, February 10, 2014

Piano man

I spend the day tickling the ivories simply to bring a few moments of joy to passersby.

I ask for but a few coins for my trouble. Just put them in the tambourine.

Sunday, February 9, 2014

Puddleduck

I might not look that happy out here in my raincoat.

But I am definitely a fan of puddles.

Saturday, February 8, 2014

Rain, rain, go...on for a while!

At first I wasn't so sure about this rain business.

But after a bit, I warmed up to it.

Friday, February 7, 2014

2nd safety officer

Helping Dad with some measurements for the office shelving and desk unit he's building.

I've already mastered the principle of "measure twice, cut once" -- although in my case, it's more like measure fifteen times. Love that measuring tape!

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Pill popper

I love when Mom lets me go exploring in our bathroom cabinets. Nothing more fun for a baby than playing with bottles of expired medicine!

Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Mac n cheese

Like all civilized men, I like to eat my macaroni one noodle at a time.

It's easier if you use your fingers.

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Clay play

Getting my hands dirty with some squishy clay at daycare.

Hope I don't mess up my favorite shirt!

Spoiler alert: I totally did.

Monday, February 3, 2014

Rub a dub

I am a big fan of my big boy baths. Even when the water cools down, I don't want to get out!

Sunday, February 2, 2014

Saturday, February 1, 2014

Deconstruction

Taking a break from train engineering to do some civil engineering. This ramp needs retrofitting.

Dad, I'm going to need to use a few of your power tools...